Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » EMPTYSPIRAL.NET » ES General





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ES site dimensions.
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 3:34 pm 
Offline
Fanatic Coiler
Fanatic Coiler
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:00 am
Posts: 455
Location: South of France
Matt. Can you tell me which dimensions you used to create this site?

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:48 pm 
Offline
Lacunaz Expert
Lacunaz Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 4:00 am
Posts: 5531
Location: Celldwellering !!!!!
there are no real dimensions it's done using a cms called phpnuke, has been a while since I last checked in on the nuke front.

all I can say is the left column is 165 wide

_________________
blearyeyedme wrote:
I blame Doug.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:51 pm 
Offline
Fanatic Coiler
Fanatic Coiler
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:00 am
Posts: 455
Location: South of France
Ok thanks for this fast answer :wink:

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:20 pm 
Offline
Lacunaz Expert
Lacunaz Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 4:00 am
Posts: 5531
Location: Celldwellering !!!!!
Succubae wrote:
Ok thanks for this fast answer :wink:


:D

It's because I've set one up in the past and have some knowledge of it, personally I prefer phpfusion, but it has a very limited forum and the template designing is far more complicated than phpbb.

_________________
blearyeyedme wrote:
I blame Doug.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:33 pm 
Offline
Fanatic Coiler
Fanatic Coiler
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:00 am
Posts: 455
Location: South of France
I'm discovering it. :P

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:53 pm 
Offline
Server Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:00 am
Posts: 288
NightRunner wrote:
there are no real dimensions it's done using a cms called phpnuke, has been a while since I last checked in on the nuke front.

all I can say is the left column is 165 wide


I'd like to correct you here and say that the design elements (dimensions etc) are not the same as the CMS driving the site.

The design code is on another layer (you could say) than what contains the data presented.

_________________
▲▲▲ Follow me on Twitter


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:10 pm 
Offline
Lacunaz Adept
Lacunaz Adept
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 5:00 am
Posts: 3801
Location: New York; PS I'm a guy
Henrik wrote:
NightRunner wrote:
there are no real dimensions it's done using a cms called phpnuke, has been a while since I last checked in on the nuke front.

all I can say is the left column is 165 wide


I'd like to correct you here and say that the design elements (dimensions etc) are not the same as the CMS driving the site.

The design code is on another layer (you could say) than what contains the data presented.

I will never understand computers.

_________________
Image

Rest in peace, Fenton.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:14 pm 
Offline
Server Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:00 am
Posts: 288
It is a matter of finding your interests and what you are good at.

Regardless this being web design, programming, hugging trees... what have you ;)

_________________
▲▲▲ Follow me on Twitter


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:15 am 
Offline
Fanatic Coiler
Fanatic Coiler
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:00 am
Posts: 455
Location: South of France
Henrik wrote:
NightRunner wrote:
there are no real dimensions it's done using a cms called phpnuke, has been a while since I last checked in on the nuke front.

all I can say is the left column is 165 wide


I'd like to correct you here and say that the design elements (dimensions etc) are not the same as the CMS driving the site.

The design code is on another layer (you could say) than what contains the data presented.


Ok ok thanx for the info. The cms is new to me.

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 2:11 pm 
Offline
Server Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:00 am
Posts: 288
If you're talking content management systems, PHPnuke is kind of "out of fashion" these days. Joomla and Drupal is all the brohaha if you're looking at F/OSS-products.

_________________
▲▲▲ Follow me on Twitter


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 3:17 pm 
Offline
Fanatic Coiler
Fanatic Coiler
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:00 am
Posts: 455
Location: South of France
Henrik wrote:
If you're talking content management systems, PHPnuke is kind of "out of fashion" these days. Joomla and Drupal is all the brohaha if you're looking at F/OSS-products.


Well, in fact I didn't know about cms. But it's cool to learn new stuff. The thing is that my question refered to designing a website with photoshop etc...

_________________
Image


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 4:15 pm 
Offline
Server Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:00 am
Posts: 288
Ah yes, but think of it like this; "Anything that keeps track on pages and articles is a CMS". What is not a CMS is if you make the pages manually, like for example a simple homemade webpage :)

If you're new to making webpages, check out Dreamweaver. It has a lot of nice guides and tools for you to use and it will also grow with you, aka; as you get more skilled the more use you have of the tool.

The most popular CMS today must be Wordpress though... Right Matt?! ;)

_________________
▲▲▲ Follow me on Twitter


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 7:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 4:00 am
Posts: 18590
Location: Old London Town
:D Probably!

Wordpress has come a long way over the years, and certainly the themes and plugins available for it have extended it into the CMS space.

It's worth noting (if it's not been already) that CMS stands for 'Content Management System' and there are a huge variety (both commercial and opensource) available. The idea being that you no longer have to code HTML to publish a consistent website that is easy to update (anyone that has used notepad/vi to develop websites will know where I'm coming from!)

As far as the original question is concerned. I didn't using any dimensions. However I do consider a minimum screen resolution when doing the graphics for the site. This is particularly important in the title/header which has to share horizontal screen space with a 468px wide banner.


Top 
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

Board index » EMPTYSPIRAL.NET » ES General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: